It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:48 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:56 pm
Posts: 1
I'm brand new to using the Malcolm Rig, but I'm starting to have troubles with the facial controls, primarily the eyebrows and the nostrils. I saved the Malcolm file and quit, but when I went back to use the same file, the eyebrows and nostrils were locked in place even though I can move the controls up/down and left/right no problem; yet with no result.


Help would be GREATLY appreciated, for a can't wait to start using this rig properly!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 471
That's strange - I don't know if I've seen that before.
Can you send some screenshots or any other information?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 1:07 pm
Posts: 1
Hi Dave,
I have the same problem.
I scale Malcolm 3 times bigger, and now the eyebrow controller is not attached to the rig. I can move the controller but the brows don't move at all.

please help.
Thanks

Lilian


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:12 pm
Posts: 2
I have been trying to use the Malcolm rig as well and am having the same issue. The eyebrow controls, nostril controls and the top level lip corner controls themselves will move, but the geometry does not move with the controls. I have tried using all three versions of the Malcolm rig and they all behave the same way. I have tried using them in Maya 2015, 2016 and 2018. I have looked for solutions to this issue here and on the 11 Second Club forums and just did a google search as well. The few suggestions that people have posted have not worked for me.

I LOVE this rig and what people have done with him. I very much hope you can help.

I have used the female Malcolm and have had no issues at all.

cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 471
Can you try setting the evaluation mode to DG in the Settings>Preferences>Animation. Let me know.

Maya 2015 did have a problem with ruining some blendshape connections. If the file was saved initially from Maya 2015, I'm not surprised about that.
Maybe you can use ATOM to save the animation out and bring it on to a new reference in Maya 2018.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 8:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:12 pm
Posts: 2
admin wrote:
Can you try setting the evaluation mode to DG in the Settings>Preferences>Animation. Let me know.

Maya 2015 did have a problem with ruining some blendshape connections. If the file was saved initially from Maya 2015, I'm not surprised about that.
Maybe you can use ATOM to save the animation out and bring it on to a new reference in Maya 2018.


Thank you. Changing the evaluation mode to DG did work for Malcolm v100 in Maya 2016 & 18. This mode option isn't available in 2015. I saved and re-opened the file a few times and it seems to hold. I think, though, I tried this a while ago and it worked for a time, then one day I opened the file and these controls no longer worked. I'll keep you posted.

No joy for Malcolm v200 though. These controls still do not work in Maya 2016 or 18, whether I import the rig or reference it in. Very sad...

cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 9:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 471
:(


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group