It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:42 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question about skinning
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:18 pm
Posts: 7
Hey Dave,
I was wondering if there was an easy workflow to transfer the skin weights from Malcom's body (upper, pants, socks, and shoes) to a new one-piece mesh?
I've been trying cometScripts and zooTools, but they don't seem to be working out for me.

Thanks, man!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 12:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 426
I confess I don't know. I always do this in Softimage, then transfer. I'll ask our rigging instructors--they'll know.

DanieltheAnimator wrote:
Hey Dave,
I was wondering if there was an easy workflow to transfer the skin weights from Malcom's body (upper, pants, socks, and shoes) to a new one-piece mesh?
I've been trying cometScripts and zooTools, but they don't seem to be working out for me.

Thanks, man!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:18 pm
Posts: 7
Sounds good. Let me know if you find an easy solution. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 426
Hi! Here are the responses:

"I am not sure exactly what they need but you can always assign the same joints and then copy the weighting from your old mesh to the new one. You can find that under the skin - edit smooth skin - copy weights. There are a couple options under there, "closes point on surface" normally does the trick. They do not need the same topology. I use this a lot at work to simplify weighting on high-res geo."

"I have solid results with Maya's copy skin weights, it also works fine with vertex selections. You just need to be sure both skinClusters have the same influences."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:59 pm
Posts: 5
I think you also need to make sure it has UVs and that they aren't overlapping. I think some of Malcolm doesn't have any UV's and the 'copy/transfer weights' saves an image based on UVs of the painted skin weights and then transfers it, so if you don't have UVs then those painted weight images Maya tries to save won't work . . . I think. I haven't done this in a while. Someone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, but check to make sure everything has UVs first.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 5:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:09 am
Posts: 4
You can always assign the same joints and then copy the weighting from your old mesh to the new one but, I am not sure...
There are a couple options under there, "closes point on surface" normally does the trick. Someone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, but check to make sure everything has UVs first.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group