User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Discuss anything related to the Malcolm Rig here!
Post Reply
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm

User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by admin » Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:00 pm

User video on Installing Malcolm:


AmberLD
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by AmberLD » Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:04 pm

This may be the answer to my problems! :D I'll check it out and post back if it was indeed helpful.

AmberLD
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by AmberLD » Sat Dec 08, 2012 6:22 pm

This video was great! It showed me that I was indeed doing everything right, and the bit on changing between IK and FK controls was much appreciated.

One question though, if anyone can answer it: on the page where you can originally download Malcolm, it says, under "Malcolm v1.00 for Maya 2009," that "(Known issue: background image does not display on Macintosh computers.)" I'm assuming this is referring to the colors and buttons on the Picker, as they do not show in Maya on my Macbook. Has anyone come up with a way around this, or have any suggestions as to how I can access the Picker buttons without being able to see these images?

Thanks so much! (Message to the mods: feel free to move this post if you feel it would be more applicable elsewhere, but if so, please just state where it was moved to. Thank you.)

Elmir
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:06 am

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by Elmir » Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:17 am

Thank you for the video, really helpful! There is only one thing that is not yet working in my installation: I can't rename the Main_PIKR to malcolm:Main_PIKR. I've done everything as in the video but when I click Enter after writing the new name it comes back to the old name. What should I do? I am no maya expert. Is there another place apart Outliner to change the names?...

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by admin » Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:21 pm

Hi! First reference the character in. Note the namespace Malcolm has, for example "malcolm:".

That's what you have to rename the picker to. If you enter a namespace that doesn't exist, it will do what you're describing (not allow it).

(You can create namespaces other ways as well.)

Elmir
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:06 am

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by Elmir » Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:50 pm

Thank you for the prompt answer!
The namespace I find in the reference editor is "malcolm", and if I re-name the Main_PIKR "malcomMain_PIKR" it accepts bit, but still doesnt work. The name of the reference is "malcomRN malcom.ma", and I have tried also the "malcomRN" in various combination, but still doesnt work and as soon as I add ":" it doesnt allow it.
What can I do?....

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by admin » Sat Mar 23, 2013 2:05 pm

When you reference the character in, each object should be named e.g.: malcolm:ctlBody
If it isn't with the colon, check your reference settings.

that same prefix (whatever that is) should be applied to the picker node, and become, for example:
malcolm:Main_PIKR

See the picture here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2019

Elmir
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:06 am

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by Elmir » Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:06 am

I am very sorry, but I am a bit confused. The prefix of all my objects seems to be "malcom:"
Then why doesnt it allow to rename the Main_PIKR "malcom:Main_PIKR"?....
Attachments
Outliner.JPG

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by admin » Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:17 pm

You are misspelling it: "malcolm:"

L

Elmir
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:06 am

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by Elmir » Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:47 am

Oh my gosh, you are right! How could I be so dull?!.... :D
Thanks a lot for your help, and for this fantastic rig! I can't wait to start using it

ameerz
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:11 pm

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by ameerz » Thu Oct 13, 2016 1:27 pm

:) This is just for Me Getting information on this Forum.... I'm a newbie here !! :shock:
I got intro'd to the Malcolm Maya Character & then got myself reg'd in this forum,
but as far as I can see this forum is not that much active !!
Pls som1, refer me how can I get in touch with the Forum Moderators or SuperAdmin !!
thanks in Advance
:) :) :)

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by admin » Wed Oct 19, 2016 10:23 pm

We are listening if you have a comment, thanks.

cornerofart
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:59 am

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by cornerofart » Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:03 am

Dear.
I'm downloaded the Malcolm v2 but I don't find the script for pickers :!:
Please, I need the script.
Thank you. :ugeek:

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm

Re: User Video: How To Install Malcolm

Post by admin » Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:46 am


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests