AnimPicker doesn't link with Malcolm

Discuss anything related to the Malcolm Rig here!
Post Reply
0Sullivan
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:41 am

AnimPicker doesn't link with Malcolm

Post by 0Sullivan » Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:57 am

Hi there,
I see there are many topics related with the Picker, but none of them solved my issue.
I am using Maya 2017 in Mac with the AnimSchoolPicker successfully working with other characters.
Open Maya
File > Set project
File > Open Malcolm_v200.ma
File > Create reference
Open Malcolm_v200 pickers from the AnimSchoolPicker
I can't select anything in the Picker.
I have tried to change the namespace to 'malcolm' as it's shown in the Outliner.
I have tried to move all the malcolm files into my scene folder and out from it.

What else can I try?

Thanks

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm

Re: AnimPicker doesn't link with Malcolm

Post by admin » Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:31 pm

You need to reference the character rig in not open it. Then you'll have the namespace to hook it up to.

0Sullivan
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:41 am

Re: AnimPicker doesn't link with Malcolm

Post by 0Sullivan » Thu Sep 06, 2018 6:32 am

Thank you, it worked!

Now, the rig looks very pale. Seems like there is only the default maya renders available. Not Arnold or Mental ray... Why is that happening? How can I get a good render for him?

Also the software crash with this message "File contains unknown nodes or data. To preserve this information, the current file type can not be changed"

Thanks

0Sullivan
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 9:41 am

Re: AnimPicker doesn't link with Malcolm

Post by 0Sullivan » Thu Sep 06, 2018 7:52 am

I think I found the problem. When I pulled out the mesh from the groups I was able to render it with Mental Ray. So I checked the Malcolm rig and found layerLocatorShapes under attribute editor when clicked on main Malcolm in the outliner, there is a Drawing Override Options tab where I unchecked the "Enable Overrides" box and that seems to fix the problem.
Still not happy with it. The shaders of the clothes are all reflective.
Screen Shot 2018-09-06 at 12.54.11 PM.png
Does anyone know how to solve it?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-09-06 at 5.09.40 PM.png

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm

Re: AnimPicker doesn't link with Malcolm

Post by admin » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:55 pm

He is not set up for rendering and top of that he was released in the transition from Maya using MentalRay to Arnold, so you need to apply your own shaders are you like.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests